top of page

The Early Years Foundation Stage

"Childhood is not a race to see how quickly a child can read, write and count. Childhood is a small window of time to learn and develop at a pace which is right for each individual child".  Anonymous.

What is the EYFS?

The EYFS is Statutory Framework for the Early Years which sets the standards for welfare, care learning and development for children from birth to five years.

It gives all professionals a set of common principles and commitments to deliver quality early education and childcare experiences to all children.

How does it work?

The EYFS sets out seven ‘Areas of Learning and Development’ and together these make up the skills, knowledge and experiences appropriate for all children as they grow, learn and develop.  These areas are split into two categories:

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Physical Development

  • Communication and Language

Specific Areas

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design

The Prime areas are fundamental and work together to move through to support development in all other areas.  The Specific areas include essential skills and knowledge for children to participate successfully in society and their future learning.  Together they provide a balanced curriculum for our early years children.  

To view the EYFS Statutory Framework follow the link below.

To find out more about what to expect from early years development, see the document 'What to Expect, When'.  Please be mindful that the age bands overlap.  This is due to all children being unique and developing in different areas at different rates.

bottom of page